A Day to Remember

Saturday 4th December 2004 was a memorable occasion in Fethard when, in an exciting replay, our junior footballers won the County A championship defeating Clonmel Commercials by four points.

On the path to the final Rosegreen had defeated Cappawhite in extra time to win the West Tipperary title. A last minute goal scored by Trevor Downey secured this victory. Rosegreen went on to defeat Drom & Inch in the county semi-final by four points.

It had been a long wait for the Little Village and there were jubilant scenes as the trophy was presented to the captain, Eddie Walsh, by Mick Frawley the Football Board Chairman at the time. One week following their defeat by Kilruane McDonaghs in the hurling equivalent, the Rosegreen team had bounced back in style to deliver a display of real grit and determination.

The man of the match on the day was Trevor Downey who contributed the impressive tally of six points. Trevor orchestrated the Rosegreen attack throughout the game and his shooting from play and placed balls was impressive. He also created the game’s crucial score, a controversial goal scored by Tom Shelly. Downey jinxed his way down the right touchline before crossing a high ball which Tom duly punched to the net. The Clonmel men protested vehemently that it was a square ball. But all to no avail! Having consulted with his umpires, referee Denis Curtis allowed the score to stand.

Final scoreline Rosegreen 1-9, Clonmel Commercials 0-8

The Rosegreen team was as follows: John O’Grady, T.J.Phelan, Robert O’Brien, Vinny Downey, Aidan Lonergan, Ryan Hennessy, Mark Harnett, James Walsh (0-1), Ger Looby, Liam Sherlock, Joe Hennessy, John Walsh, Trevor Downey (0-6), Eddie Walsh (0-1), Tom Shelly (1-0).

Substitutes brought on: David Brennan for John Walsh and John Hennessy (0-1) for Liam Sherlock. Other Substitutes: David Quirke, Eoin McGrath, Michael Corcoran, David Brennan, Fintan Ryan, Frank Culleton, John Hennessy, Sean Cormack, Tony Corcoran, Richie Corcoran and Stephen O’Brien, Cormac Ryan and Thomas Manton.

Selectors: Pat Cormack, John Walsh, Michael Fanning, Pat Cummins and Pakie Hallissey (Coach).