Rockwell/Rosegreen U14

Rockwell/Rosegreen’s under 14’s have been busy in the past two weeks competing in the West Tipperary Under 14B/C football league. Their first game was played in Emly on the 26thof April. The opposition were Emly/Treacys and the game was refereed by Richie O’Connor. Emly/Treacys got off to the better start hitting goal in the first few minutes. Emly/Treacys had the upper hand in the first half and at half time were ahead on a score line of 2-3 to 0-4. The scores from Rockwell/Rosegreen came from JP Anglim, Padraig Quinlan and two from Colin Geraghty. In the second half things did not improve for Rockwell/Rosegreen as Emly/Treacys continued to dominate. At the end of the game Emly/Treacys ran out clear winners on a scoreline of 4-7 to 0-6. In the second half JP Anglim and Colin Geraghty added points for Rockwell/Rosegreen.

In the next game Rockwell/Rosegreen played Golden/Kilfeacle in New Inn on the 3rd of May. This game was refereed by Fiachra O’Keeffe. This was a game that Rockwell/Rosegreen needed to win to have a chance of qualifying for the latter stages of the league. Rockwell/Rosegreen started better and played well in the first half, at half time they led on a score line of 1-2 to 0-1.Rockwell/Rosegreen scored a point early in the second half but then conceded a goal to leave two points between the sides. The game was finely balanced; Golden/Kilfeacle scored a goal and a point in the closing minutes to leave two points between the teams. Rockwell/Rosegreen rallied to their credit, the ball hit the crossbar and the upright, it was just not to be their day and at the finish Golden/Kilfeacle won out on a score line of 2-2 to 1-3. Rockwell/Rosegreen now play Eire Og Anacarthy in the final round of the league and they then look forward to the championship semi-final where they will play either Clonoulty/Rossmore or Golden/Kilfeacle.

Panel– Eoghan Doyle, Dylan Adcock, Gerard O’Dwyer, Senan McMahon, Peter Heaney, Jason O’Gorman, Jamie Doyle, JP Anglim, Daniel Keating, Conor Hennessy, Joe Lawrence, Mark O’Grady, Brian Byrne, Colin Geraghty, Karol Geraghty, Fernando Garcia Seeber, Padraic Ryan, Padraig Quinlan, Adam Gearon & John Bergin.

Rockwell/Rosegreen U12

Rockwell/Rosegreens under 12s have been busy competing in the under 12B football championship in recent weeks. Five teams were in the B competition, hence four round robin games had to be played. Having played the four games, Rockwell/Rosegreen won three and lost one. As a result they qualified for a semi-final where they were set to play Galtee Rovers/St.Pecaun. In the round robin game Bansha were the winners. Rockwell/Rosegreen turned the tables in the semi-final running out clear winners on a score line of 4-5 to 1-3. They had now qualified for the final where they were set to play Golden/Kilfeacle. In the round robin game between this pair Rockwell/Rosegreen had run out winners on a score line of 3-8 to 3-3.

The Under 12B football final was played in Leahy Park Cashel on the 6thof May in blistering sunshine. The game was refereed by Padraig Skeffington with the ball thrown in at 2pm. Rockwell/Rosegreen started better with Conor Molony Ryan scoring a goal with an excellent finish. Colin Bourke followed with a pointed free to leave them ahead by four points. Just before half time Golden/Kilfeacle responded with a point to leave a goal between the sides at half time. Golden/Kilfeacle had the better of the exchanges at the start of the second half landing three points, two from play and one from a forty five. The sides were now level with minutes remaining. Rockwell/Rosegreen scored a point when the ball bounced over the bar to leave them ahead by a point. Golden/Kilfeacle pushed hard to the very end but could not add to their tally. On the final whistle Rockwell/Rosegreen were champions of the west on a score line of 1-2 to 0-4. This was a tight game and fair play to all of the players for an entertaining contest, in warm conditions.

Rockwell/Rosegreen go on now to play the county semi-final where they will meet Moyne/Templetuohy. David Bergin the Rockwell/Rosegreen captain received the trophy from PP O’Dwyer of O’Dwyers Hardware, Dundrum the competition sponsor.

Panel – Jack Moloney, David Bergin, Andrew Tobin, Oisin Cummins, Patrick Fitzgerald, Cian O’Brien, Liam Moloney, Colin Bourke, Aidan Freir, Rowan Barrett, Conor Molony Ryan, William Colville, Patrick Colville and Niall Tobin

Mentors– Michael Moloney, Seanie Cummins, Cormac Ryan & Jack Bourke